Strip D&D, draft 1.

Named because it’s stripped down, inspired by “Searchers of the Unknown.” I love the premise of giving characters the same information monsters need, but little more, and focusing on decisions the players make at a much less granular system level. I wanted to stretch my legs in trying a different style of game mastering, to hone and improve my skills and expand my toolbox.

I did some things differently, and added a trim little skill system. I had some further ideas of things to do with the system, too. I like how descending armor class is rendered sensible. In fact, I like a lot about the inspiration for Strip D&D and also what I did with it.

One of the elements that rings my bell is the ease of use of published material. I don’t need to do any conversion to use B/X foes against Strip D&D characters. Equally attractive, the characters work differently than standard D&D characters do, so I’ve got my subversive enjoyment of taking everything sideways in a most satisfying fashion. I really thought this could be a great experiment, and it might open up to more open game table dungeon crawling without converting to my home system or to Old School Hack the Fictive Way.

Then we tried it out. And we’ll talk about that tomorrow.

For now, here’s Strip D&D! Strip D&D 1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strip D&D, draft 1.

  1. Jim says:

    This is really pretty sweet. Now if you can get magic in on one more page, that would be fantastic. I think you have something really good here.

  2. fictivite says:

    Glad you like it! I’ve actually already started magic (but put it on hold) and I suspect it will be more like 2 pages.

  3. Jim says:

    I like you decending AC makes sense. I’d change the Sentence under initiative from “Best goes first.” to “Highest goes first.” Since we don’t know what “best” is.

Leave a Reply

