Seasoned by Years

Fictive Hack

As I wandered the internets, I found a post here about a Curmudgeon class. Love the ideas! Sooner or later, in all my games, I get around to rules for aging characters. In the more permissive atmosphere of Fictive Hack, it should not be all about penalties; instead, with some penalties, you get some perhaps better-than-average talents.

Now, for Fictive Hack, I can make this a template. You can have a character who starts as an old person, with no other templates, adding cross-template skills with levels. Or, you can take this as an overlay template, slowing leveling but drawing from a wide range of experience.

If Shaun thinks this is cool, I’ll add it to Spender.

Seasoned by Years Template

gandalf

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seasoned by Years

  1. Simon says:

    I’ve always wanted to run an older character, such as a retired soldier who has taken up wizardry as a hobby.

  2. fictivite says:

    I dislike the default to 16-21 year old characters, too. I mean, I get it; first level, so your everything sucks, what have you been doing with your life?! That kid over there, 25, is approaching name level!

    I was thinking of a retired soldier too; first talent could be “Combat Toughened” which gives you +2 Wounds, and you could take it at -1 Wound for the template, and still be +1 Wound. Or, you could make the character with 2 attribute points instead of 5. Or, you could pick up an old war wound before starting. All cool flavors, I think.

    Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

