Matt’s Rule Edition

As I have been looking for people to play online, I’ve got 3 or 4 people as possibilities. Looking with fresh eyes, it is clear that my rulebook/worldbook for “The World Between for Fictive Hack” is daunting for one-off or short gaming.

Fortunately, Matt Jackson inspired me to create a 20 page fully compatible summary of the rules. His “rule” is that he won’t look at a game that needs over 20 pages to explain the rules. I took that as a design challenge, and made a 20 page summary version. Now I can use “Fictive Hack: Matt’s Rule Edition” as a gateway to a much bigger world.

Thanks, Matt! I still hold out hope you’ll someday review the version named for your rule. In the meantime, your rule has helped me out, so that’s pretty cool.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Matt’s Rule Edition

  1. dither001 says:

    I looked over Matt’s blog at your suggestion and his “20 page rule” seems like a good design goal / challenge. I know I’d endorse it! :)

  2. fictivite says:

    I think it is a good challenge. Part of what becomes interesting is defining “core.” I basically made my Matt’s Rule edition by cutting off all but 20 pages, because lots of that is optional. But they are good options. Like codes of faith or beliefs, backgrounds, crippling, firearms, and so on.

    At the end of the day, it’s one thing to see the game as the owner of a shiny toy and another thing to see the game as an entry-level player. This rule is especially good for entry level. Let the game blossom once you’ve got ‘em hooked.

Leave a Reply

