Old School Hack Character Reference & Record

I love a LOT of things about this game.

I’ll be posting some suggestions for house rules on black powder and heavy crossbows. In the meantime, in the process of looking at how I would run this system, I redid the character sheet and created a one-page reference that covers all the basic rules except combat, which are summarized on another sheet. (Check them out here. Old School Hack Character Record)

I’ll confess I don’t like the landscape format for organizing the information, but bah! A minor quibble. One thing that I DO like, very much, is the underlying premise.

One of the reasons I struggle with B/X is because of what it claims to do, and what I want it to do that matches those claims, and how that doesn’t mesh. But with OSH, it says, “sit down here at this table and do awesome stuff.” And so a lot of the things that bug me about other games just go away.

I don’t love my other games any less. But I think this is a great “let’s just sit down and play” game. I love the arenas, the way different weapons interact with arenas, and the default position of “everybody likes bonuses and nobody likes penalties.” There are a few penalties, but they are far outweighed by the system giving you ways to be awesome and encouraging you to show off for each other.

I look forward to trying this out. My head spins with possible new classes, new talents to add to the mix, and general setting stuff. I don’t want to get distracted from my long term project, or my real world work in the background, but this may just be a diversion that could do me and others both some good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old School Hack Character Reference & Record

  1. Bruce Bailey says:

    I could not find your email address on your site. I would like to share an OSH Character Sheet Word template using form fields that meshes with the original print-only version.

  2. fictivite says:

    Good thought, I’ve updated my “About” page so my email is there.

    Thanks for working on a form for the sheet! I have been continuing on working towards “Fictive’s Talents and Templates 2.0” this weekend, so I have a couple minor changes, but I look forward to seeing what you’ve done!

    My email is k a p r o u (at) hotmail dot com.

Leave a Reply

