Maptacular Monday: OSH Temporal Map

Today is a different kind of map. Today I map out “ages” or “eras” of history.

An History of Energy in The Breathing World

I have done very little worldbuilding in my Old School Hack setting, not wanting to limit the gonzo creativity. If I come up with something cool, I don’t want to have to jiggle it around to fit it in the continuity and setting. Too soon. However, that kind of work gets much better depth and connection.

The current age has a depth of 3,312 years. Any stories I want to tell can happen in that span; for example, the elvenforge taken over by a dragon, the dragon assaulted it about 450 years ago. The forge was likely built less than 1,000 years ago. So even though the dragon and elven histories go back much further, and I know something about it, I don’t have to dip back into previous ages for the construction of the now-ruined location etc.

Though it is nice to have the option, if I want to punch the “wow” button, to say “This [building/document/artifact/tomb] pre-dates the Awakening, over four thousand years ago…”

My goal was to use pieces of myth and lore that are individually familiar, and recombine them in a new way. For example, humans are the elder race, and elves then dwarves follow–and I explain how and why.

I also created a history that works for my sword-and-sorcery Baffram setting (with black-powder firearms, basic crude machinery, clerics, etc.) and my new Gothmagog steampunk setting over 6 months of travel away (no clerics, much superior firearms, gearwork robots and cybers, steam power, etc.)

So, read on, and I hope you enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maptacular Monday: OSH Temporal Map

  1. Jesse says:

    This is great. I’m going to use (at least) pieces of this. I’m already using your canticles and grimoires, and the background provided here for those systems is perfect – using them together is a no-brainer.

    It’s funny – I just ran my first OSH game last week, right after the Secret Santicore bundle was released, and I also took Gothmagog for my setting. I didn’t use Jeff’s adventure, but the Chaos cult, Temple Lane, and the Festival of All Gods all made appearances. Your version of the cult leader may show up eventually. One of my players fell in love with the elf goal from your talents and templates expansion about trying to restore youth to an aging human lover, so thank you for throwing that ongoing series of roleplaying encounters into my life. 🙂

    Thanks so much for creating all of this great material. My only reservation about running OSH was that the players could quickly level out of the base game in a handful of sessions, but your expansion (I think it can rightly be called an expansion) fixes that handily. The adventuring goals are wonderfully evocative, I would love to play any class you’ve created, the grimoires and canticles are just what I wanted the base game to contain, etc., etc. Essentially I can’t say enough good things about your work. OSH would be incomplete for me without it. I and my players thank you heartily.

  2. fictivite says:

    Thank you! I really appreciate hearing your response, and I am very pleased that your group is using the material. I’ve got more coming. Thanks for staying tuned and using all this. (I agree “expansion” is right.)

  3. Pingback: Dwarven Clan Builder | Between Are the Doors

Leave a Reply

