OSH Defense Class armor test results.

When I ran Gothmagog that was the first time I tested my “Defense Class” replacement for Armor Class for Old School Hack. Now, I have not implemented this for the fantasy version, but instead for steam punk and Western and science fiction and modern–the People vs. Creatures hack.

I don’t like the AC abstraction of “hit for all or nothing.” Characters are wearing armor that helps soak some damage, not deflector shields. It gets even goofier when you involve guns.  When I get the Defense Class rule set where I want it, when my year of non-interference with “Fictive’s Talents and Templates” is up, I may revisit the question for the base “Old School Hack: the Fictive Way” too. Previously I felt that was a bridge too far from the original game, and it may remain so. (I have a year to decide how I feel about it.)

Anyway, the Defense Class did not work as I wanted it to first time out of the gate. This is fine, as it gave me the insight and experience I needed to get it closer to where I wanted it to work right for the OSH system.

Here is the next draft of how the armor itself works. Background assumptions:

  • Spending Awesome Points to use armor to reduce injury stacks with spending 2 Awesome Points to reduce 1 incoming Wound normally.
  • The system for determining DC and encumbrance has not changed.

Ignoring Armor. Taking a focus action to attack, and accepting the base DC (not reduced by armor) means an attacker can disable the armored target’s ‘s ability to spend Awesome Points to reduce Wounds, OR the armored target’s automatic soak.

Armor Types.

  • Light armor: can spend 1 Awesome Point to reduce 1 incoming Wound per attack.
  • Heavy armor: ignore the first wound from any attack. Can spend 2 Awesome Points to reduce 2 incoming Wounds per attack.
  • Very heavy armor: ignore the first wound from any attack. Can spend up to 3 Awesome Points to reduce up to 3 incoming wounds per attack.
  • Super armor: ignore the first 2 wounds from any attack. Can spend up to 4 Awesome Points to reduce up to 4 incoming wounds.

For NPCs, Awesome Points spent to activate further armor protection are split between the attacker and the bowl as usual.

Firearms. Steam punk firearms are in a strange place between black powder and modern firearms. Two adjustments: a critical hit does +2 damage (not +1 and doubling, or any doubling.) They have a range of 1 arena per the shooter’s Awareness, minimum adjacent arenas. A rifle adds 1 arena, as does a scope.

Maybe I’ll get to try this out Friday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OSH Defense Class armor test results.

  1. Pingback: OSH Armor Reconfigured | Between Are the Doors

Leave a Reply

