Movement Speed

I have a pair of ambitions here. I’m working on Strip D&D movement rates, and also working on movement rates for Fictive Hack.

If it is 400 feet from a trapdoor to the exit, how long does that take them to move? Arenas are good for combat, but not so much for overland movement. I could do it that way, but I’d like to have some basic foot speed movement rates for when it matters–like in the Lottery Dungeon, where the door is open for 2-6 hours only.

Here is my thinking for both at the moment.

Movement for Strip DnD

 

 

So, in the example of 400 feet of known terrain between the trapdoor and the exit, we can see how many movement slowing conditions apply. They know where they are going (no mapping) and they are not being stealthy. If it is dark, they are wearing metal armor, and let’s hope they are encumbered with loot, that’s 3 conditions. They can move 90′ in 10 minutes. They can get out in about 45 minutes.

If they are not in metal armor, and they are not encumbered, then the only condition left is darkness. At that point they can move 150′ in 10 minutes. That gets them out in less than half an hour.

If they run for it, waving their guttering torch and panting in the funhouse darkness of wild shadows, they could sprint it out in under 30 seconds. Even in metal armor and encumbered, that’s under a minute (about 45 seconds).

So… what do you think of this? Does this sound/feel/seem right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movement Speed

  1. fictivite says:

    I’ll put in another condition, Caution.

  2. Tim D. says:

    I’ve struggled with this as well. Part of me ( a big part of me ) says keep it simple, remove the math, focus on the actual skill roll versus tracking the distance and time.

    Yet when it comes to overland travel it seems almost impossible to avoid traditional daily movement rates.

    So in the end, I’m torn between techniques. Although I really like the conditions aspect determining speed. Maybe using this could eliminate the encumbrance rules? They’ve always seemed kinda clunky to me.

  3. fictivite says:

    In Fictive Hack I have no problem using the arena system for movement in combat. For the Lottery Dungeon adventures, I’ve needed a land-speed movement system for when they are exploring.

    So, making something that makes sense in Strip D&D can be repurposed and also used in Fictive Hack–let’s hear it for efficiency.

    In Strip D&D, 1,000 coins is the equivalent of 1 level of armor, right now. With this system, I’d say every 1,000 coins is 1 encumbered condition–and you can have more than one, until you’re reduced to under 10′.

    For Fictive Hack, I got the encumbrance where I want it. Light weapons are 8 to a load, hand weapons 2 to a load, heavy weapons 1 to a load, very heavy 1.5 loads. 500 coins to a load. 1 level of armor to a load. And everything else maps to that, characters can carry 1 load per Brawn. That’s proven easy for me to remember.

    Any simpler than that, either it’s over-simplified (and so ignored) or too complicated to remember (and so ignored.) I had trouble with the original Old School Hack encumbrance; one free weapon, every weapon after that a load. Even daggers? What about bow and arrow? Etc.

  4. Tim D. says:

    For your Lottery Dungeon, couldn’t you control the distance by presetting the number of arenas and setting the number of combat rounds? Essentially they both manage the same issue without adding another mechanic.

    One of my issues with OSH is that as I understand it there are 2 speeds: Normal, and Encumbered. I think this, while very simple, probably needs elaboration. I think ever other game system (that I know of) has some concept of speed in it.

    So I’m not sure if I really dislike the encumbrance system as much as I want a speed system.

  5. fictivite says:

    When I was tinkering with my Warhammer I did a space hulk set up in fixed arenas to handle that issue. In general, I prefer the looser system of spontaneously identifying them for combat only.

    But that’s most true for things like Lottery Dungeon. When I designed the Tireless Archer setup, I mapped it and designed it with arenas in mind. That is a whole different experience.

Leave a Reply

